

Notice of Permanent Rules for Alcohol Tastings for 18 to 20 Year Olds at Community or Technical Colleges

This explanatory statement concerns the Washington State Liquor Control Board's adoption of a new rule WAC 314-38-060 Special permit for technical or community colleges as authorized by RCW 66.20.010 (12) shall be called a Class 15 permit. This permit allows alcohol tastings for 18 to 20 years olds enrolled in a culinary or alcohol technology degree program at a community or technical college.

The Administrative Procedure Act (RCW 34.05.325(6)) requires agencies to complete a concise explanatory statement before filing adopted rules with the Office of the Code Reviser. This statement must be provided to anyone who gave comment about the proposed rule making.

Once persons who gave comment during this rule making have had a chance to receive this document, the Liquor Control Board will file the amended rules with the Office of the Code Reviser. These rule changes will become effective 31 days after filing (approximately February 15, 2014).

The Liquor Control Board appreciates your involvement in this rule making process. If you have any questions, please contact Karen McCall, Rules Coordinator, at (360) 664-1631 or e-mail at <u>rules@liq.wa.gov</u>.

What are the agency's reasons for adopting this rule?

Rules are needed to implement the following legislation passed in the 2013 legislative session:

• SSB 5774 – Alcohol Tastings for 18 to 20 year olds at Culinary School

Summary of all public comments received on this rule proposal.

No comments were given at the public hearing held on January 8, 2014, held in the Board's meeting room in Olympia, Washington.

Concise Explanatory Statement Community or Technical Colleges

One written comment was received opposing the proposed rules: Aninda Mattoo:

Opposed alcohol sampling for 18 to 20 year olds enrolled in technical or community colleges. No reason was given for the opposition.

WAC Changes

NEW SECTION

WAC 314-38-060 Special permit for technical or community colleges as authorized by RCW 66.20.010(12) shall be called a class 15 permit. (1) The class 15 permit allows tasting of alcohol by persons between eighteen and twenty years old. The requirements for a class 15 permit are as follows:

(a) The permit applicant is a technical or community college;

(b) The permit allows tasting, not consuming of alcohol as part of the class curriculum with approval of the educational provider;

(c) The student must be enrolled in a required or elective class at the college premises as part of a culinary, beer technology, wine technology, or spirituous technology-related degree program;

Concise Explanatory Statement Community or Technical Colleges 1/15/14

(d) The alcohol served to any person in the program under twenty-one years of age is tasted but not consumed for the purpose of educational training as part of the class curriculum with the approval of the educational provider;

(e) Faculty or staff of the educational provider must be at least twenty-one years of age, supervise the service and tasting, and hold a class 12 or class 13 alcohol server permit; and

(f) Students may not purchase the alcoholic beverages.

(2) There is no annual fee for this permit.

Concise Explanatory Statement Community or Technical Colleges 1/15/14